Municipal Elections in Turkey. Istanbul, Antalya, Alanya: Who Became Mayor?

Long-awaited municipal elections were held in Turkey, cities received their new mayors. According to the results of the vote count, the largest opposition party CHP is ahead of the ruling AKP party. The CHP won in 35 provinces and the AKP in 24.

How the votes were distributed in large cities:

  • Istanbul: CHP – 51.06%, AKP – 39.6%

  • Ankara: CHP – 60.35%, AKP – 31.72%

  • Adana: CHP – 46.47%, AKP – 37.42%

  • Izmir: CHP – 48.89%, AKP – 37.10%

  • Bursa: CHP – 47.59%, AKP – 38.36%

The current mayor of Istanbul, Ekrem Imamoglu, retained his post. In second place is the candidate from the ruling Justice and Development Party, Murat Kurum.

In 2014, Ekrem Imamoglu became the mayor of Beylikdüzü. He won elections in Istanbul twice.

In the capital of Turkey, Ankara, the current mayor of the city, oppositionist Mansur Yavas, wins

Both Ekrem Imamoglu and Mansur Yavaş represent the opposition Republican People's Party Cumhuriyet Halk Partisi CHP (CHP).

Antalya 2024 election results:

  • 48.4% Muhittin Böcek – Thermal Power Plant

  • 40.0% Hakan Tütüncü – AK Party

  • 2.60% Nesrin Ünal – İYİ Party

The post of mayor was retained by Muhittin Böcek from the Republican People's Party, who has held it since April 8, 2019.

But in Alanya there is now a new mayor, Osman Tark Ozçelik, who received 47% of the votes. Previous mayor Adem Murat Yücel came second with 26.2%, İyi party candidate and former ALTSO president Mehmet Şahin won 21.1% of Alanya's votes.

About the new mayor of Alanya: Osman Tarik Ozcelik was born on November 1, 1962 in Alanya, graduated from the Faculty of Engineering of Hacettepe University in 1985 with a degree in chemical engineering, was engaged in agriculture, tourism and healthcare. Married, has two children.

After the elections, Osman Tarik Ozcelik promised in his speech: “Together with Mayor Muhittin and Antalya Municipality, we will achieve our goals in Alanya. There should be no doubts about the fulfillment of our promises. We will quickly implement our projects. Alanya trusted us with its future.”

Names of mayors of major cities in Turkey in 2024 based on election results:

  • Istanbul – Ekrem Imamoglu (SNR)

  • Aydin – Ozlem Chercioglu (CHR)

  • Ankara – Mansur Yavas (SNR)

  • Antalya – Mühittin Böcek (SNR)

  • Bursa – Mustafa Bozbey (CHR)

  • Zonguldak – Tahsin Erdem (SNR)

  • Izmir – Cemil Tugay (SNR)

  • Mersin – Vahap Secher (SNR)

  • Muğla – Ahmet Aras (SNR)

  • Sakarya – Yusuf Alemdar (AKR)

  • Sivas – Adem Uzun (WVR)

  • Tekirdag – Candan Uceer (SNR)

  • Trabzon – Ahmet Metin Genç (AKR)

  • Çorum – Khalil Ibrahim Ashgin (AKR)

  • Eskisehir – Ayse Unluce (SNR)

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan's party lost local elections to the opposition for the first time in 20 years and will lose mayoral posts in 19 key municipalities, including Bursa and Balıkesir in Turkey's industrial northwest.

Back to News
We will help you sell your property quickly and profitably
We will quickly and most importantly put your property up for sale at a profit. Guarantee and transparency of transaction support.
Stay Property Projects
We have been engaged in construction for more than 20 years. Leave a request and we will send you a price list.
Our YouTube channel
Life in Alanya, real estate review, legislative news and much more...
More details